Brahms

This evening I have been playing Intermezzi, opus 116 no. 4, 6 (I always imagine the Schumanns and Brahms taking a tender walk together) op 118, with a sense of farewell and the lovely gentle cascades of 119 no. 1.

As a small child I have memories of lying on the floor with tears in my ears, listening to the big piano concertos on our little red-suitcase record player.

The Brahms has had the same effect in its soft embrace, as does my warm, fiery Steinway, making me wonder what the withdrawal symptoms will be like…

This entry was posted in Music-making. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Brahms

  1. hello dear Jenny, I met you in Dartington estate gardens, the moment you left the pub. I walked behind you and I thought you where someone who worked in the gardens. But no, it is the Alexander technique that did it. You walk in a grounded way. It was nice meeting you and it is like I was hearing music..and I think you’re journey already started… Go for it…and be welcome in Belgium, Oostende.

Leave a Reply

