Easter soon

painting for my grandson's easter card 'The Egg Hunt'

"Have you found any yet?"

This is my new home! I am gradually moving as few possessions as possible into this sweet Shepherd’s Hut (built by Ashwood Timber; check them out, as they are so good at what they do).

My window faces east and at 6.00 am, daybreak saw me with a paintbrush and pad as I dreamed my way into the view.

I have stirring memories of the rustling of dawn when I was frequently rehearsing at the Steiner School Hall, nearly 4 years ago as the performance of the last 3 Beethoven Sonatas drew near. I would start with opus 109 around 5.45 am and when an hour or so later, daylight began to pour through the windows and the birdsong was revving up, somehow I would consistently reach that part in the 4th variation (2nd movement) of opus 111 where the left hand is pulsing in delicate triplets, while the right heralds a hushed sunrise. (for you musicians out there, around bar 96!!)  It was breathtaking, tear-jerking and newly exquisite every time.

It struck me then as it does now (after such a beautiful performance of the St. John Passion this evening in Exeter Cathedral), that the cycle of the day, the seasons and life itself can sometimes be crunched up into a powerful all in one experience …. that renewal is possible after slogging through winter…. (metaphoric/literal)

It is now 1 am, and I am still buzzing from a fabulous pre-concert meal from my favourite Exeter Restaurant. ‘Ask‘. I promised I’d give you lovely guys a mention! They are just on the Cathedral green, and they always seem so happy to see you. (The food is splendid and they have fixed the wobbly the loo seat!)

This entry was posted in Music-making, Paintings etc., The sonatas. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

