Any Day Now… (last post from the comfort of home)

Hello again everyone.

My tummy has been doing cartwheels and my ‘hut’ has been in unspeakable disarray since about 6 o’clock this morning. It’s all back in the bags now and as my to-do lists have shrunk, so the bags have expanded again. (groan!)

BUT my desk is clear, and everything is orderly now at 10.30pm.

I have had a wonderful evening and special meal with Geoff, Sheena and Fergus (11) as a farewell gathering. Henry and Verity are not at home tonight, but over the last month, living close by has brought so many joys… each child visits from time to time and tells me about their day, or I hear drum practice or the strains of an oboe or the hens getting excited. It always feels like such a gift when these beautiful young people want to chat with me. I will miss them and carry their blessings close.

Tomorrow I go to stay with another gorgeous family before Monday when I head for the station and Paddington. Then my wonderful son, daughter and grandson see me off onto the train at Liverpool Street. This particular parting has not hit any of us quite yet.

Phone calls, internet intricacies, battery charging, wistful looks, sudden bursts of lunatic excitement, totally unnecessary jobs (like painting my sandals for heaven’s sake) among the things done or left undone.

I feel bashful alongside all those who have set out before and who seem so experienced and economic with kit and clutter.  I also feel bashful about saying how emotions have swept through in great heavings and swayings this week; maybe not so surprising, as I have never gone so totally out on a limb before!

"May the wind be always at your back... and until we meet again"

Do I still want to go?

I couldn’t bear not to now.

 My little pilgrim’s shell from Sheena has just twirled as it landed on my desk, reminding me to quote from the soul calendar again.

“The radiant beauty of the world

Compels my inmost soul to free

God-given powers of my nature

That they may soar into the cosmos,

To take wing from myself

And trustingly to seek myself

In cosmic light and cosmic warmth”

How could I resist such a call?

(And I wish I understood more about lining up text!!)

I see from the stats that lots of you have been busy looking in! It is always so great to get a comment/message. Please keep them coming! Thank you for all the warmth of support and interest that I know is out there. I shall do my best to keep this going wherever I can.

This entry was posted in Soul Verses, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Any Day Now… (last post from the comfort of home)

  1. Susan says:

    good luck, I’l be keeping tabs -Love Susan

  2. carolyn says:

    ‘ To me its really so simple, that life should be lived on the edge of life.
    You have to exercise rebellion.
    To refuse to taper yourself to rules.
    To refuse your own success.
    To refuse to repeat yourself.
    To see every day, every year, every idea as a true challenge….
    ….and then you are going to live your life on a tightrope.’

    Philippe Petit, tightrope walker extraordinaire, speaking at the end of the documentary film film ‘Man on Wire’.

    Proud to know you, Woman on Wire!
    Carolyn xx

  3. Caron says:

    Thinking of you and sending you all my love as you set off on your adventure. Enjoy!
    Lots of love, Caron xxx

Leave a comment