Appreciation of Good Things

20120710-232729.jpg

Mole is sitting on my bed. There is a little place, no, 2 little places on his tummy, where the kapok is showing through the tight rows of knitting. Mrs. Farnworth showed me how to knit neatly in our craft classes at Mountford house Primary school when I was only 7 or 8 years old….. it was on very small needles for such a small person, and I am proud to say Moley has survived very well over the last (nearly) half century!! Am I really that old? Do I really still have Teddy bears on my bed. Yes to both….. Mole has a special badge that I think deserves a mention.

I was sitting at my window reflecting this morning how similar each end of the telescope is. With one end the universe opens out. Ditto with peering down a microscope. This similarity has fascinated me from a very early age, and has meant that I have very rarely felt bored. My wonderful daughter, when I went out and got a mountain bike a couple of years ago, sighed deeply and sweetly said ” you are just one of life’s enthusiasts, Mum”. I felt both flattered and ever so slightly ticked off all at once!

Moley’s special badge means a lot to me. It is a much coveted ‘Merit Badge’ awarded occasionally to Mountford House School leavers, and had to be carefully explained, as I was too young to really understand it’s significance.

20120710-232836.jpg

‘For the appreciation of good things’

What a lovely, lovely acknowledgement for a little girl of 10 to receive, and one that has stayed with me all these years.
It has just emerged from a long forgotten box during a sort out and the best place is surely the lapel of Moley’s tightly knitted overcoat, don’t you think?

I have been appreciating so many good things.

20120710-233109.jpg

My beautiful 6 year old grandson staying and enjoying the simplicity of my little caravan and the delights of playing with big boy Fergus, who has 3 ducks! (Fergus aged 12, will be taking up an oboe scholarship at Wells Cathedral School next term. His ducks are called Allegro, Presto and Vivace, of course!!)

20120710-233227.jpg

The sense of our ongoing connectedness as we steamed briefly into and then out of a complete meltdown (formerly described as a ‘tantrum’, which implies it’s the child who is at fault… I hate this) and the satisfaction of being able to help instead of having my own version. A granny’s privilege? I used to have the most awful tantrums when my children threw wobblies!

20120710-233534.jpg

The light on the fields…. and upon the trees in their heavy summer garb. The quiet.

The see saw from Ollie’s 6 years to my beloved Aunt in her nineties… this is the aunt who stepped in when my mother, her younger sister, died in my 12th year… at the end of my first year at boarding school, where I had been sent to enable my mother to cope with the cancer that had been debilitating her on and off for several years. It was this Aunt who introduced me to my first non-religious/spiritual books and who was a most wonderfully nurturing presence throughout my school days and on into adulthood. This special connection has remained and been a most cherished thread…. one which I found especially hard, along with Ollie, to interrupt whilst away
traveling.

20120710-233714.jpg

I picked up the threads with Aunty Roe, yesterday, and despite a few a muddled moments ” I am afraid I am not what I was” that big, arms flung wide, and tight hug were as ever.
Memories, so many memories get tripped when I visit Aunty Roe, and when I see Ollie, too. And that feeling of being stretched out between the generations, forwards into time, backwards into time, is such a strange and powerful sensation. Poignant is nearly it, but not quite, and I can’t really do better! Included was an indescribable sadness to do with the passage of time.

Tonight after another full day, Beethoven’s penultimate sonata… Opus 110 was being played by Martin Roscoe on the radio. This is one of the 3 sonatas I have been playing as I toured around Europe and which I love so much. Supper by candlelight with Beethoven for company. Another ‘good thing’ to add to the infinite list.

As these 2 weeks since I have been back have sped by, it all begins to seem such a long way away…. all that movement and amazingness and strength and vision! Today I felt jubilant at a very small circuit on Sir G in the hilly bit near Harberton!! what a relief to know that my Achilles is recovering and didn’t protest. My lungs did though, but that is easy to remedy.

20120710-233819.jpg

I am entertaining the lovely Henry ( 16) for a hut supper tomorrow “which is so cool” …. a very special growly bear I have known since a little cub of 6. He has SUCH a grisly bear brow and I am so fond of him!

I am beginning to get organised without being so suddenly overwhelmed with tiredness or rush. A different kind of stamina is perhaps starting to take root.

Thanks for looking in. I hope that as this chapter of the ‘journey’ continues to unfold you will still enjoy sharing it with me.

A day later
The meal went very well…. “awesome, exotic, TROPICAL” ….. and for a monosyllabic lad, he was positively chatty!
What a lovely ‘good thing’!

Verity, Henry and Fergus McCready are 3 lovely young people who at one time or another have been my music pupils. Although it was through music that we were originally introduced we have, over the years become close family friends. With their parents, Geoff and Sheena, they are presently my closest neighbours and very dear friends. Their visits and companionship give me much joy.

This entry was posted in People. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Appreciation of Good Things

  1. sheila bendall says:

    Still wonderful to be able to follow your movements as I rush in and out. Just off to work. Enjoy (as I intend to ),lots of love xx

  2. Henrietta says:

    Lovely to see a picture of your aunty, I remember the love in your voice when you talked of her at Anne Marie’s painting mornings.

Leave a Reply

