Busy B

For several months I have been riding a wave of artistic activity.
“Burning the candle”


 Earlier in the year I painted a lot. 

The result is a set of oil paintings which revisit some of the most memorable of scenes from my Beethoven by Bike travels… with more than just a nod to Beethoven. 

There are moments in the last 3 sonatas, especially the very last, (opus 111 ) when the radiance and relief of dawn whispers into being. 

It is this sublime essence of nature and her cycle of the day that I have attempted to portray. 

To accompany these there are sweet memories that for me encapsulate the personality of the countries I passed through. 

Embroidery designs. 

A fresco. (Greece, where else?!)

The view from a friend’s farmhouse. 

As usual, inspiration crashes in rather late in the day. (I’m adept at creating a raft of jobs at the 11th hour!)

So in addition, around each of the “grown up” oils, there will be an orbit of little prints of water colours that I painted while I travelled. 

This gives a context of time and place…. Little gems of character. 


As I reached places of especial significance, phrases from the sonatas would flood my being. An intense wash of gratitude. Fulfillment. A split second of peace. 
The northern-most tip of Denmark. 


Crossing the Danube in December. 


The southern-most tip of Greece. 

So beside each of the “dawn ” paintings, will sit an extract of a score that I played from as I found pianos. 

This to epitomise and distil the sense of the painting, the music, the experience of life in those wonderful moments. 


The swell of appreciation is something that I hope will infuse the Tangerine Tree Café in Totnes for the month of October. 
Do come along if you are in the area. 
You could even order some gorgeous Christmas cards!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Busy B

  1. Wendy H says:

    Dear Jenny
    rushing as usual but HAD to read this first
    It filled me with such wonderful feelings of gratitude for my life – and yours – Thank you for being there and sharing this with us
    It is wonderful how your creativity just pours out of you
    Nourishing all who encounter you
    Wendyxx

Leave a Reply

